Statute of the "International Visegrad Prize"

Article 1 General Provisions

- 1. The International Visegrad Prize (the "Prize") was founded pursuant to the recommendations of the Prime Ministers of the countries of the Visegrad Group (V4) made at the Group's Summit Meeting in Esztergom on 29 June 2002.
- **2.** The International Visegrad Prize shall be awarded in appreciation of support rendered for the development of cultural cooperation of the V4 countries.
- **3**. The Ministers Responsible for Culture of the V4 countries and the International Visegrad Fund have decided to prolong the awarding of the Prize.
- 4. The Prize shall be awarded to individuals and legal entities for their activity involving at least 3 of the V4 countries in the previous 4 years.

Article 2 Process of Awarding the Prize

- 1. The Prize may be awarded every year; it shall usually be awarded at the Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Culture of the Visegrad Group Countries. Only one Prize per year may be awarded.
- **2.** The Prize shall consist of a certificate and a financial award.
- **3.** The certificate shall be signed by the Ministers Responsible for Culture of the four V4 countries, symbolising their joint decision.
- **4.** The financial acknowledgement, amounting to 20,000 euro (twenty thousand euro), shall be provided from the International Visegrad Fund directly to the awarded individuals or legal entities.
- **5.** The amount of 20,000 euro covering the cost of the financial award shall be included in the annual budget of the International Visegrad Fund in accordance with the adopted decision of the Visegrad Group Prime Ministers at their meeting on 12 May 2004 in Kroměříž.
- 6. The host country of the Meeting of the Ministers Responsible for Culture of the Visegrad Group will be in charge of inviting the Prize winner or its representative, and will cover the expenses related to the invitation.
- 7. The host country shall provide information on the Prize winner to the International Visegrad Fund who shall prepare the certificate; the host country shall also request in writing the transfer of the financial award directly to the award winner.

8. The Prize shall be officially handed over by the Minister Responsible for Culture of the host country of the Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Culture of the Visegrad Group together with the other V4 Ministers or their representatives. \$

Article 3 Nomination

- **1.** Nominations for the prize shall be made by the Directors or the Heads of Departments in charge of V4 issues in the Ministries Responsible for Culture of the Visegrad Group countries
- 2. The nominations as well as the Prize shall be announced in rotation between the V4 countries in the following order: Hungary, Slovak Republic, Poland, Czech Republic.
- **3.** At least 3 nominations from each V4 country following the rotation system order shall be collected by the Director of the Department in charge of V4 issues in the host country of the above-mentioned Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Culture of the Visegrad Group countries, two months prior to the planned date of the ministerial meeting. The nominations shall also be sent to the other ministries so that all 3 ministries can check it and prepare their own decisions.
- **4.** Nominations shall be presented in writing and shall include the name, surname, address and contact data of the individual or the registered office of the legal entity nominated for the Prize, as well as the justification supporting the nomination.
- 5. The justification of the nomination shall include information about the nominated project, which shall assist in the decision-making process.
- **6.** The Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Culture of the Visegrad Group countries shall be preceded by a working meeting of ministerial experts who shall conscientiously discuss the nominations and propose the most suitable candidate to their Ministers.
- 7. The Ministers shall decide on the awarding of the Prize at the Meeting of the Ministers Responsible for Culture of the Visegrad Group.
- 8. The Ministers are not required to award the Prize every year.

The Statute shall come into effect on 10 June 2019

1111 Antonín Staněk

Minister of Culture of the Czech Republic

Manpelalue Gener

Magdalena Gawin Under-secretary of State of the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland

Péter Fekete Minister of State for Culture Ministry of Human Capacities of Hungary

Ľubica Laššáková Minister of Culture of the Slovak Republic

26-24

Andor F. Dávid Director International Visegrad Fund